What’s in a name?

Why Cultural Exchange Sustained and what does it mean? I was belittled recently when I was discussing this name with an old family friend and my mother, ‘but what does it mean?’ they asked. With an added ‘I don’t like the word sustainability’. ‘Well I’ve used the word sustained’ I retorted. But what, indeed, did it mean? I know what I am trying to get across and I think this blog is going to be more about me trying to find a way to express what I know I want to say but haven’t found a way to say it as yet. So please bear with me if at times I seem to be stumbling along my own path of jibbery. I am attempting to make sense of abstract thoughts that flitter momentarily in my consciousness through writing, as many people do, I can imagine sometimes I’ll fail and others I may reach enlightenment albeit briefly. I’ve always been fascinated with other cultures and travel and language and I’ve imagined myself to be open minded when it came to immigration and cohabiting inter-culturally. And I believe this. I was married to an Italian and I share my life with a Brazilian who is also the father of my two children. I embrace change and culture and therefore ‘Cultural Exchange Sustained’ means something to me. But I don’t want this blog to be about me and my experiences with my own cross-cultural relations. I also do not want to get into the nitty-gritty of political debate regarding asylum seekers. I feel strongly about their liberty and freedom to live in a safe and accepting environment and nothing that anyone could ever write will change this view point, so I’m not interested in bantering about it on the net. What I do want to write about, however, is the culture of people as a group, as performing artists in life. I love to know what motivates people. Whilst I mulled over the name for sometime, I have come up with another that I hope is more fun and light hearted and will let me let loose when I write and that is culture naag. You see, my mother and her friend managed to get their own way in the end.

Categories: Lifestyle | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “What’s in a name?

  1. And I’ve just shown you what I mean by discovering something else through writing. I started the entry with one name and ended it with another, there is the thought pattern in process and exactly what I was talking about when I wrote that the blog will help me define what I’m looking for. Voila.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

